What I do in my spare hour(s)

9 09 2009

There are many things I like to do in Melbourne when I find I have an hour to myself. I really like E55 which is a bar/cafe on, wait for it…55 Elizabeth street.  Makes sense hey? They have internet and I think it’s either free or cheap if you buy a coffee. A55lso lots of comfy couches to sink into and read gig guides on. Or just grab a wine and gaze at all the graffiti art hanging on the walls. Amazing toilets also.

Another one I do, is to go down to Safeway in Melbourne Central and buy a punnet of strawberries, or either delicious fruit, and sit in Flagstaff Gardens, or the Carlton Gardens, or any gardens! And then I people watch. I bring fruit because I love it, and also I feel a bit less creepy watching people if  I have a reason for being there. Because I’m eating it’s then ok to be sitting on the grass and watching all the people go by. At least that’s my reasoning anyway.

By Pat M2007 from Flickr Creative Commons

By Pat M2007 from Flickr Creative Commons

The next one I love doing is going into Myer or any other store that has an electrical department with massage machines and massage chairs for you to try out. I can spend a long time “testing out” all the chairs very thoroughly. I always feel like a shop assistant is going to come and tell me to stop playing with them, and then I remember I’m not nine-years-old anymore. As an adult you have a right to do such things. Because technically you could actually buy one. A very relaxing hour. Plus you don’t have to pay $5 like a chump.

By Lorenia from Flickr Creative Commons

By Lorenia from Flickr Creative Commons

This one has a similar guilty feeling as the previous hour-filler. Because it’s going into pet stores and looking at all the cute little animals. Sometimes you can pretend you are thinking of buying one and they even let you hold them. This is probably about a 15 minute activity, unless you do a pet shop crawl across the city.

By Daniel Greene from Flickr Creative Commons

By Daniel Greene from Flickr Creative Commons

Another thing to do is to go to a park and do some stretches. It feels sooo good and if you can get over the feeling that people might be looking at you thinking you’re a bit strange, it’s a  nice way to fill in time. You can also do a bit of meditation/napping at the end, especially if it’s a nice sunshiney day.

By Rebecca Anne from Flickr Creative Commons

By Rebecca Anne from Flickr Creative Commons

There you go, there are many, many more ideas out there. But don’t sit and grumble if you’re friends going to be an hour late, or you miss the bus/train, or your meeting gets cancelled. Go be a creepy fruit-eating-people-watcher. Or be the weirdo doing stretches in the middle of a busy park. Kidding! Make the most of your time. There’s too much to do and see and hear and taste to be wasting any spare hour.

Actions

Information

One response

21 09 2009
Sandy

I love your podcasts and what you’ve done on your blog. They’re very entertaining and funny too. Great voice and music in the podcast! It’s good that you incorporate interviews with different people, gives a great setting to your podcasts. I think it’s great that you’re doing these podcasts because it is sort of mutually beneficial for businesses as well to get their products and services out there.

I think the Free Hour in Melbourne one is a creative idea as well, something that people can identify with. In this one, I like how you recorded you voice with birds chirping in the background. Just a suggestion, I thought maybe if you want, you could cut some snippets from the music and place them in between other parts in the podcast where you find it appropriate? Having it beginning and end is great too though. 🙂 Great work. It’s all coming together very nicely.

Leave a Reply

